All the latest News & Info on what were doing to Factions

Community Q & A : Theelord

Postby Triadian » Thu Mar 29, 2012 2:24 am

Greetings Theelord,

We understand your a busy man so we would like to thank you for your time in answering these questions:-

What are your experiences in game development prior to this game?
Theelord wrote:I am a hobbyist programmer and have been for over 8 years. I am also the creator of the popular Warcraft 3 custom map “Warball”. Since I was a kid I have always been the one organizing people for teams, tournaments, parties etc… I always enjoyed creating games for others to enjoy, be it on paper or on the computer or any other medium I could think of.

What made you decide to develop this game?
Theelord wrote:I remember from the first day I learned about the concept of MMOs / MUDs I wanted to create this game. It’s not even so much the exact game I would want to play, but rather the most interesting and original concept I could think of for people to enjoy. I find it extremely interesting to throw thousands of people into a completely open world and let them make of it what they will. However, we also need to avoid anarchy, this is a game afterall. Most sandbox games do not understand how to balance this and what usually ends up happening is that you have a strange mixture of anarchistic, completely unchained PVP and then dev-built content, so the players have nothing to really fight over and no way to set rules that are either followable or breakable. No one is held to account for their actions and no one is interested in undertaking group actions. So in other ‘sandbox’ games you usually end up with lots of solo players with not much to do besides grief others.

What made you decide on the name factions?
Theelord wrote:It describes the premise of the game without fluff. The name is still not 100% decided upon honestly. maybe we will host a competition to find a new name or something